Teach 1 Lesson – Quintin

At my local baronial fencing practice on January 25th, 2016 I taught a lesson on the “Italian lunge.”
What I covered…
1. Stance and body mechanics.
2. Steps of a lunge. (hand, arm, head, body, step, head, knee)
3. Proper withdrawal. (head then knee)
4. Concept of cascade of motion.
Who I taught…
Two novice fencers.  Both have been fencing for less than 18 months.
Overall I think the lesson went well.  The purpose of the lesson was to convey information more than to get the “students” to improve a skill.  The lesson started as an explanation of how I use leverage to my advantage against the two students.  But, in order to get the leverage conversation off the ground we first had to deal with proper lunge.
The only significant negative was it felt too superficial.  I gave the explanation and we had a good discussion about the concepts.  But, I did not get anyone to actually practice the technique.  It is my hope that I will be able to get these two to start practicing the actual motions but time will tell.
{What prevented you from getting them to practice the technique?}
Time.  We have to be out by 9.  It was getting late and everyone wanted to get a few more fights in before we had to pack up.

About Lot

Don Lot Ramirez is the Captain of the White Star and a Companion of the White Scarf of Caid among other awards, including the Vanguard of Honor and Legion of Courtesy. Mundanely, Jeff is an Online Colorist at Sonicpool in Hollywood, and he teaches classes in Historical Western Martial Arts at the Tattershall School of Defense, in Long Beach, CA.
This entry was posted in Assignments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment